If Only I Had Died At The Hotel!

Yesterday, I was in was hiking with Mom and Dad through a natural wonder—one of Madagascar’s many national parks named Isalo.  Moment after moment, the scenery was simply unbelievable (I promise there will be pictures once I get back to my computer).  All you want to do in the midst of such magnificance is wonder and thank God for letting little humans like us take part in such an incredible creation.

Unless, of course, you are me, in which case the park was just stupid. Because obviously, the cloud formations weren’t pretty enough to get the pictures I wanted, the guide talked too long, the grass was too long and rubbed against my arms, and there were too many French people in speedos at the natural swimming pool.  I was also hungry.

So no thanks. Grumble grumble grumble. I should have just stayed at the hotel.

“All the Israelites grumbled against Moses and Aaron, and the whole assembly said to them, ‘If only we had died in Egypt!'” -Numbers 14:2

…Oops.  Maybe I haven’t really learned anything in Madagascar. At least the Israelites were complaining about a wilderness and not the shape of cloud formations.

Leave a Reply

