Bible Reading

I’m not really one to make many new years resolutions, but I am one who has found having goals and a plan very helpful when it comes to Bible Reading.  Some wise person somewhere, although I can’t exactly remember who, once said that most people fail to pray and read the Bible because they simply didn’t plan to.  I don’t have anything really new to say about this topic except to point you to a very comprehensive blog post by Justin Taylor that discusses pretty much every Bible reading plan imaginable if you are interested.

Also, I would say that Bible reading is best done in the context of relationships, and even personal Bible reading can be helped when you are reading the same things in fellowship with other people.  So if anyone would like to, I am going to give the plan developed by Robert Murray M’Cheyne a try this year, although I’m probably just going to read the first two readings for each day (which would be the New Testament, the Psalms, and a big chunk of the Old Testament).  If you’d like to try this with me, let me know!

That’s all.  Happy New Year everyone!

