Prayer Update: Routine

Ryan, what happened to your life?  All your recent posts have been about books.

It’s about time for a life and prayer update.  All my traveling has slowed down, and I have been in staying here Toliara for the past couple weeks.  Life has actually become somewhat (dare I say it?) routine.  I think the routine has been a good thing.  They may not be terribly exciting, but here are a few highlights from the last few weeks:

  • I have felt great health-wise recently!
  • I received a package from my parents which means I can eat Peanut Butter and honey sandwiches!
  • I have been making a website for the church here, which means lots of time learning how in the world one does that!
  • I have been editing a book the Bishop’s wife Patsy wrote!
  • I have had a bit of a breakthrough with the language, and dinner conversations are even more fun!
  • I got to pray with and for the shaman next door because he is sick.
  • I continue to teach at our monthly discipleship training which might be my favorite thing ever!
  • I got to hike way out into the countryside to visit a village church (not the cool one Matt Chandler Preaches at)!
  • I will soon be traveling to help set up water tanks in local villages!

Just like everywhere else, there were lots of kids at the village church.

Please continue praying for me.  I greatly desire your prayers.  Pray that I would continue to stay healthy.  Pray that I would continue to stay joyful in the Lord.  Pray for the ministry here in general, that there would be a spirit of love and unity amongst all the Malagasy leaders.  Pray for this country.  In case you are unaware, Madagascar had a coup a few years ago, and ever since its government has not been recognized by the rest of the world.  Therefore, it no longer receives the foreign aid that it desperately needs, and its economy is pretty aweful.

And if you would like a verse to meditate on as you pray for me, try this one.  I like it because often I am prone to feel either entirely incompetent at what I am doing, or I take the opposite route and get very prideful in my successes.  Pray that I would instead trust Christ, and minister in a spirit of patience and love with the Malagasy people.
 Such is the confidence that we have through Christ toward God.  Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God, who has made us competent to be ministers of a new covenant, not of the letter but of the Spirit. For the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.
-2 Corinthians 3:4-6
Leave a Reply

