The Tragedy of Laziness: Part II

Many moons ago, in my very first post, I explored the sadness and silliness of laziness.  Here I am writing about it again.  Why?  I’m writing because more and more I notice it invading my own life.

“What?!” you ask me, incredulous.  “Ryan, you’re always so busy.  Busy, busy busy!”  Well yes, I have been very busy.  Incredibly busy.  Wow, it’s almost time for dinner!  Yes, perusing through various WordPress blog themes took up so much time (Do you like the new one?  It’s so orange and black!).  Phew! I’m tired.

I’m the only one who is really aware of my laziness.

Of course, it is not as though I plan to wad up an afternoon and toss it in the trash.  I never plan to waste several hours.  But it’s “a little sleep” and a “little slumber” and “a little folding of the hands to rest” that add up to ruin me (Proverbs 24:33-34).

I’ll check my email.  (1-15 minutes)
I’ll catch up on some news. (5-15 minutes)
I’ll get some good “work” music going. (2 minutes)
I’ll go grab a cup of coffee. (7 minutes)
I’ll open up gchat. “Oh boy!  Look who’s online!” (20 seconds every 2 minutes)
I’ll  strategically place balloon-popping monkeys.  (10-∞ minutes)
I’ll walk to the bakery (walks are good to get good work thoughts going)  (15 minutes)
I’ll check my email again.  Oh boy!  Things I need to reply to. (5-20 minutes)
I’ll make dinner plans. Time to text.  (15 seconds every 3 minutes)
I’ll go climb a roof of a building.  (This only applies in college it’s 3 in the morning and there is a very important paper due the next day.  53 minutes)

Phew!  I’ve been working all afternoon.

I do all this innocently enough.  Somehow I tricked myself into thinking I could work and play simultaneously.  In fact, I didn’t even notice I was playing.  I’ve tricked myself into thinking I’m super busy.  And now I’ve just stressed.  (Did I just distract you for 22 seconds?)

But every once in a while, I’ll actually do work: focused, energetic, well-done work—not like the last-minute essay I handed in with the word “th#n” in it (not profanity but a literal “#”) or the essay where I misspelled the professor’s name.  Lazy work is shameful and I suffer through it.  Real work is happy and I lose track of time.

What am I thinking in those little lazy minutes?  Sigh…laziness is such a tragedy.

2 thoughts on “The Tragedy of Laziness: Part II

  1. Am I the only one who’s noticed the beautiful incorporation of the new Needtobreathe album into your posts? “Slumber.” “Reckoning.” I’m such a fan.

Leave a Reply

