The McGregors

Over the past couple years, I have come to realize how much I enjoy reading biographies. Reading about the lives of people who have truly committed themselves to something they believe in  encourages me to believe that truly throwing oneself wholeheartedly into something that others think is crazy is perhaps not so crazy after all. I say that as I am currently reading Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s Biography, Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy, which tells the story of a man who did not back down in the face of incredible opposition from the leaders of Nazi Germany.  Definitely worth reading.

But as encouraging as it is to read about someone’s life, it even more encouraging to see someone who is living out their convictions amidst very difficult circumstances.  Which brings me to the main point of this post, Bishop Todd McGregor and his wife Patsy.  A little over twenty years ago, this couple left their home in the States, to serve as missionaries in Madagascar.  They served twelve years in the capital, Antananarivo, after which they served in rural Kenya for five years.  Then, Todd was elected as the Anglican Bishop of Toliara, where he serves currently.  To say that conditions serving here are rough would be a bit of an understatement, but the McGregors have endured here faithfully and with great joy.  The fruits of their ministry are evident, as they have planted more churches here than I could keep track of.  They have truly invested themselves in the Malagasy people, discipling them and raising up leaders for all of these churches they have planted.  I am very happy and inspired as I serve alongside them for the next nine months.

Sorry there are no pictures yet.  There hopefully will be next time I post something.  Yesterday I arrived in Toliara after a 15 hour car ride through by far the most breathtaking landscape I have ever seen.  If only I had my camera with me while we were driving…

Leave a comment