Farewell Memphis

Yesterday, I packed up my things, and drove away from my Memphis home for (perhaps) the last time.  This year and this city and these people formed what was probably the most life changing nine months of my life.

  • I have never been around so many people who are so passionate about Christ.
  • I have never had to work so hard.
  • I have never been around such a diverse and loving group of people. (Although in its defense, Vandy did have a “Diversity” banner in its cafeteria.)
  • I have never been so certain of the truth of the gospel.
  • I have never been so certain of how little I know.
  • I have never had a year fly by so quickly.
  • I have never been as aware of my own sinfulness.
  • I have never baked so many brownies nor eaten so much peanut butter.
  • I have never woken up at 4:50am so consistently.
  • I have never read so much.
  • I have never had this much hope for what Jesus can accomplish in the world.
Farewell Memphis.  It’s been real.
Leave a Reply

