Rick

It’s my Dad’s birthday tomorrow!  So I thought I’d mention a few of my favorite things about my Dad. In no particular order:

  1. He’s been faithfully married to my Mom for 32 years.  Awesome.
  2. He is one of the most generous people I know.  If I gave specific examples, he probably wouldn’t be too happy with me.
  3. He still occasionally calls me Ry-no.  Cool when I was 10.  Annoying when I was 16.  Endearing now that I’m 23.
  4. He is an excellent worker and boss, and I get to benefit from the reputation that he earned.
  5. We look super alike.  I feel like that bodes well for my future.
  6. He’s always willing to try new things, whether that be riding motorcycles (note his sweatshirt in the picture) or leading worship for children at BSF or the occasional new dish at a resturant.  I don’t see him slowing down any time soon.
  7. He is excellent with the grill.  I hope to be similarly skilled some day.
  8. He’s very loyal to all his family members.
  9. He is one of the most encouraging people I know, sharing great godly wisdom and challenging me to try new things.  Few people make me feel as confident about going to Madagascar next year for example.
  10. He still has a child-like spirit.  (See Christmas carol time as evidence.)
I’d write many more, but 10 seems like a wonderfully complete number.  Thanks Dad.  I feel like I understand more of the Father’s love because of the job you did.
One thought on “Rick

  1. Pingback: Sheryl « Brazzled

Leave a Reply

