Why I Should Not Go To Madagascar

Madagascar

This upcoming year, I am going to be living in Madagascar as a missionary.  The more I think about it, the more incapable I feel of making disciples of Christ halfway across the globe.  What can little Ryan do?  A few examples of my apprehensions:

  • Ask anyone I have lived with and they will tell you that I am more than a little bit introverted.  I have not yet come up with a way to make disciples without being around people, so introverted Ryan is going to need to find some extraverted energy.
  • I know two words of Malagasy: hello and goodbye.  Although I have about three months before I leave, I don’t think this language situation will drastically change before I step off the plane in Madagascar.  Hopefully I will have learned a few phrases like, “Do you speak English?” and “Where is the bathroom?”  Those phrases, sadly, will probably do little for the sake of the gospel.
  • Tribal customs and practices, such as witchcraft, are still prominent in Madagascar.  I find this creepy.
  • I have this problem called sin and selfishness that I can’t seem to shake. (Although I’m super thankful it has been forgiven.)

In my mind it seems that if any fruit results from this trip, it is going to be some miraculous work of God.  The thought that keeps me from getting too anxious is that this is exactly how it should be.  This will ultimately have to be God’s work.  If I only attempt things I’m confident I can do, I will do very little.  I would probably only read books and drink coffee.  I am very good at those things.  So if you will please ask God to help me and Madagascar and the furthering of the gospel there I would greatly appreciate it.  Without His help, I might as well just stay home.  I do not plan on staying home.

Leave a Reply

