The Tragedy of Laziness

The sluggard buries his hand in the dish
and will not even bring it back to his mouth.
– Proverbs 19:24

To see this sluggard would be a sad sight. He laziness keeps him from eating the food already in his hand. He is a tragedy. He is tragic because he has given half the effort, but is unwilling to follow through to receive any benefit. Lazy, half-effort is all cost and no reward. I would like to think I am not this man, but am I?

Why show up to class, if I am not going to study and learn the material?
Why buy the running shoes if I am not going to run?
Why get the book if I am not going to read it?
Why read the book if I am not going to put it into practice?
Why write the letter if I am not going to send it?
Why set up a blog if I am not going to post anything?
Why take a guitar lesson if I am never going to play?

My lazy half effort is all cost and little real reward. So why do I find myself with so many hands in so many dishes? Laziness is such a tragedy.

One thought on “The Tragedy of Laziness

  1. Pingback: The Tragedy of Laziness: Part II « Brazzled

Leave a Reply

